New Year’s Resolutions of 2011

Yes I do realise I’m five years behind, but bear with me. 

In clearing out the other day I found my resolutions from 2011…it was an interesting read and point of reflection. 

There were a couple of resolutions relating to marriage which are now not achieved – but perhaps could be in the future albeit in a different way, but I was pleased (and surprised) to discover that I had actually achieved some of these 2011 resolutions.

1. Buy a new car.

Shortly after this resolution my beloved yellow Citroen Saxo got written off, so a new car was duly purchased. I’m now planning on becoming carless in the foreseeable future, although hopefully not with a second write-off scenario. Being in London so often affords a greater reliance on public transport, but after my attempt at navigation around the Elephant and Castle area with a heavy bag yesterday, it remains to be seen whether this is less stressful and costly than a year’s investment in the congestion charge. 

2. Lose a stone and a half.

Amazingly, I achieved this a mere two and a half years later without aid of the gym. Of course I don’t recommend separation and divorce as an alternative weight-loss strategy but it was definitely a pleasant perk of a challenging time. Due to my social eating habits (eat with others, spend a lot of time with others, ergo eat a lot) and enjoying eating when content, sadly half a stone has gone back on. But still, not too bad going I think, contentment being more valuable than a smaller digit on the scales. I do intend to actually visit the gym I pay for in 2016.

3. Get a new job.

Not only have I had one new job, but two since the 2011 list. The change of career was an ideal move for me, and I was pleased to see I’d achieved this so thoroughly. That first move though in 2012 helped set me on the path to where I am now, and confirmed that a move was right.

4. Write a book. 

I’m still working on this one…but I am now working on it in earnest. I am determined to finish it this year.

So apparently I didn’t make all that many resolutions, but it’s nice to know that in the end they can be achievable, even if you don’t do them that year…

So besides going to the gym, a visit which must include exercise rather than simply attendance, what are my 2016 resolutions? Well I have cunning plans, but they are so vast they deserve whole posts of their own. 

In the meantime, I’m looking forward to using this every day… 

Well done Secret Santa!
 

Each page contains five spaces to include a sentence or two about the day. Given where I was five years ago, I’m interested to see what the next five years hold until the end of 2020. 

Sadly today’s entry is somewhat mixed, as were last night’s drinks…

Let me always remember this lesson, and always avoid tequila.
 In five years time, I hope I am still writing, and perhaps with some authoring success. Maybe I will have developed a passionate love of the gym, and have finally written a book. I imagine I will still love food and dancing, and may even have fallen in love. 

I don’t know what the future holds, but I know who holds my future. 

God Knows

God knows. His will
Is best. The stretch of years

Which wind ahead, so dim

To our imperfect vision,

Are clear to God. Our fears

Are premature; In Him,

All time hath full provision.
An extract from Minnie Louise Haskins’ poem ‘God Knows’ that I stumbled upon twice yesterday – an excellent and timely reminder for me.

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions of 2011

  1. I received that book as a Christmas present last year and I LOVE it. I am writing in my second year and am really enjoying looking back and seeing things that I have overcome in the past year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

